Gang of Youths Just Dropped Their Latest EP And It Will Definitely *Not* Let You Down Easy

Gang of Youths Just Dropped Their Latest EP And It Will Definitely *Not* Let You Down Easy

Yes, yes, yes, a thousand times yes: Gang of Youths have just dropped their latest EP total serene as well as new track ‘unison’ and ‘asleep in the back.’

The EP release comes a month after the release of Gang of Youth’s latest single the angel of 8th avenue. The track is *chef’s kiss* so if you haven’t listened to it yet, check it out here.

It’s been over three years since Gang of Youths released their last, award-winning album, Go Farther In Lightness. The 2017 album debuted at #1 on the ARIA charts and was nominated for eight ARIAs, and won four of them: Album Of The Year, Best Group, Best Rock Album and Producer of the Year (for Gang of Youths & Adrian Breakspear).

Le’aupepe has still been busy in the interim, appearing on Thelma Plum‘s 2019 album Better in Blak. The band have also been touring the globe off the back of their last album’s success, developing a loyal fanbase overseas.

So it’s super exciting that we get to see some more stellar material from Gang of Youths again, who just seem to be the gift that keeps on giving.

The track ‘unison’ is a celebration of love’s salvation and looks at how current circumstances are influenced by chance and heritage.

“‘unison’ is a deeply important track for us that really signals where the music is headed on the new record,” frontman David Le’aupepe said.

“I conceived the song in Samoa, my ancestral homeland.

“Here we sample and introduce the work of David Fanshawe, who travelled to the Pacific Islands in the 1980s and recorded the most extensive library of indigenous Pacific music anywhere in the world.”

Along with Le’aupepe, the band: Max Dunn (bass), Jung Kim (guitar, keyboards), Donnie Borzestowski (drums) and Tom Hobden (keyboards, guitar, violin) produced total serene in their own studio space.

Listen to total serene here.

Image: Supplied