It’s Square Enix‘s turn to unveil its E3 goodies, folks, and it has some decent stuff to show off, including a total remake of Final Fantasy VII, and a Marvel Avengers game. Here’s the best of what was announced.

Final Fantasy VII Remake

The big sword man Cloud is back in a total remake of the classic Final Fantasy title. According to the presentation, it’ll be a great entry point for newcomers to the series, so you don’t need to worry about being out of the loop or anything like that.

It’ll pack two Blu-ray disks worth of gameplay content, so it’s sure to be fucking enormous. You can see the trailer and gameplay footage below.

It’s due for release on the 3rd of March, 2020.


Another post-apocalyptic shooter to add to the long list of recent ones. Not a lot is known about it, as the trailer gives very little away, but it looks kinda cool.

It’s described as a “dark modern shooter” by the team at People Can Fly studios, so make of that what you will. You can see more below.

Coming in our winter, 2020.

Marvel’s Avengers

Yep, there it is, a full-blown Avengers game which, judging from the trailer, will be pretty dope. It’s a third-person action game that looks to let you control any and all of the Avengers, each with their own superpowers.

The characters aren’t based on the movies, and the story is completely new, so don’t expect much crossover there, but it seems to be pretty true to the series overall. A whole new cast of actors will also portray the superheroes.

You can see the reveal trailer for yourself below.

There’ll be continuous updates for the game at no cost, as well as a refreshing lack of loot boxes and microtransactions altogether. Marvel’s Avengers will be released on Xbox One, PC, Google Stadia, and PS4 on May 15, 2020.

Apart from that, Square Enix revealed a number of remasters, mobile ports, Kingdom Hearts III DLC, and trailers for games already released. If you’re keen to see the whole briefing, which also has much more content for all of the titles above, you can check it out below.

Image: Square Enix