The first teaser for ‘Stranger Things‘ season two premiered during the Super Bowl and holyshitholyshitholyshit.

WHAT DOES IT MEAAAAAAN? One thing is blatantly clear:


But holy shit, get hyped.

The downside: it looks like it won’t be dropping till Halloween. The upside: quite literally everything else. All of it. Fucking perfect.

Earlier Matthew Modine, who plays Dr Brenner, posted a very cryptic teaser pic for S2 with extreme Matrix vibes, which tbh still makes no sense. ‘Stranger Things’ is set pointedly in the 80s and ‘The Matrix’ didn’t come out till 1999, so is there some kind of flash-forward situation?

#StrangerThings Season Two trailer premiering during the #superbowl

A photo posted by Matthew Modine (@matthewmodine) on

And a promo for S2, published over the weekend by Entertainment Weekly, showed the kids (minus Will and Eleven) in ‘Ghostbusters‘ gear, which is too perfect for words and sets this thing firmly in 1984. (Update: this also featured in the trailer.)

Noah Schnapp, who plays Will, confirmed that the series will begin with where season one left off.

“You’ll be seeing more of me. I’ll be there,” he told Vanity Fair. “In the last episode, I threw up a slug, so Season 2 begins with what happens from there. There may have been some effect on him. I may or may not have turned into a monster. You’ll have to watch to find out.”

Millie Bobby Brown, who plays Eleven, has also been confirmed for S2, despite [SPOILERS] disappearing with the demogorgon at the end of S1. And Sean Astin a.k.a. the TRUE hero of Middle Earth, is joining the cast as Bob Newby, a former high school nerd turned manager of the Hawkins RadioShack who went to school with Joyce Byers (Winona Ryder) and Sheriff Hopper (David Harbour).

The official Stranger Things Twitter account tweeted this extremely cryptic pic a few days ago, which has of course been analysed to the Upside Down and back.

The ‘-11 / 11’ thing looks like a solid reference to Eleven being trapped in the Upside Down, but for the rest of it? Who bloody knows.

And a teaser from last year gave us the title of each episode:

They are:

  1. The Boy Who Came Back To Life
  2. The Pumpkin Patch
  3. The Palace 
  4. The Storm 
  5. The Pollywog 
  6. The Secret Cabin 
  7. The Brain 
  8. The Lost Brother 

Let your theorising commence.

Photo: Netflix.