Oscars 2018: J-Law & Jodie Foster Step In To Replace Casey Affleck

With the 2018 Oscars right around the corner, The Academy has announced Jennifer Lawrence and Jodie Foster will replace Casey Affleck in the presentation for best female lead in a motion pictureAffleck pulled out of the presentation in January after receiving torrents of backlash for sexual harassment allegations.

As per Oscars tradition, the winner of last year’s award present the golden trophy to the opposite gender in the same category. As 2017 winner for his performance in Manchester by the Sea, Affleck would have awarded the Oscar.

The sexual harassment allegations are from 2010, where a lawsuit was filed by two women who worked with Affleck on the set of the film he directed, I’m Still Here. Affleck has always denied the allegations and a lawsuit was settled out of court. The allegations re-surfaced in the weeks approaching the 2017 Oscars as Affleck was nominated, and then won the Oscar for best male lead. Twitter was quick to call the Oscars out on their decision, eventually leading to Affleck’s decision to pull out of this year’s Oscars. 

With #Metoo and the Time’s Up movements taking their stands, many have applauded the Oscar’s decision to replace Affleck with two of Hollywood’s most well-known female actors.

The Oscars also announced this year’s ceremony will have a segment dedicated to to the Time’s Up organisation.

Jane Fonda and Helen Mirren will present the award for best lead male actor. Other presenters taking the stage will include our fave Marvel stars Chadwick Boseman, Lupita Nyong’o and Tom Holland. Star Wars stars, Oscar Isaac and Mark Hamill (expect a dig at President Trump) will also be presenting as well as Daniela Vega. Vega stars in A Fantastic Woman and will be the first openly transgender woman to present at the awards show.

Our very own Margot Robbie and Nicole Kidman will also be presenting.

Jimmy Kimmel will be hostin’ again as a bid at redemption after last year’s Oscar mishap AKA La La Land winning but not winning Best Picture which was actually won by Moonlight.