Listen To A New Strokes Track

It’s hard to believe ten years have passed since The Strokes released Is This It. Partly because it makes us feel old but also ’cause it informed so many people’s taste in a way that only becomes apparent in retrospect. If you were in high school in 2001 Is This It basically became the marijuana of music, a gateway album to Marquee Moon (another great NYC debut) or new non-musical experiences like wearing leather jackets, feeling emotions about things or trying something weird with your hair. I dunno. I can’t really think of a 2011 equivalent for someone who is thirteen and has no identity whatsoever so thank you Stokes.

Actually I can. Maybe The Strokes are the new Strokes? Ten years, two albums and some well documented conflicts after their debut, the band are set to release their fourth studio album Angles – an album which marks a return to the “classic” Strokes sound. First taste is this 30 second sample of new single “Under Cover Of Darkness” a song so 2001 we’re glad enough time has passed for us to feel comfortably nostalgic about it.

Angles drops Friday, 18 March.

The Strokes – Under Cover Of Darkness

Angles tracklisting:
1. Machu Picchu
2. Under Cover of Darkness
3. Two Kinds of Happiness
4. You’re So Right
5. Taken For A Fool
6. Games
7. Call Me Back
8. Gratisfaction
9. Metabolism
10. Life Is Simple In The Moonlight

Title Image by Simone Joyner via Getty