AFLW Is Officially Expanding In 2019 & Tassie’s Finally On The Map, Baby

Another huge step has been taken in expanding the AFL Womens league, with The Age reporting that Tasmania is copping a team to play from the 2019 season.

The bid was entered in partnership with North Melbourne Kangaroos, making the team the Tasmania Kangaroos (highly original, it’s cool).

Same, Ebony. Same.

Games for the upcoming team will be played half in Melbourne and half in Tassie, with two games on in Hobart and the other two in Launceston.

The Tassie Roos (that’s what I’m calling them now, don’t argue) are set to join the eight existing AFLW teams, with at least one more franchise to come from bids entered by EssendonHawthornSt KildaGeelongGold CoastPort Adelaide,  Richmond, and West Coast.


We’ll know more about which teams get their AFLW licence sometime this week apparently, and tbh I’ve got my everything crossed for a father-daughter dynasty with Michael and Michaela Long at Essendon.

While we wait for the official announcement from the AFL, let’s once again revisit my absolute favourite-ever tweet about Tayla Harris, who’ll be playing for Carlton in the 2018 season.