Tame Impala, Alison Wonderland Lead The 2015 J Award Nominations

November is Ausmusic Month, the time of year when triple j tears off its shirt, rubs its sweaty body down with Ausmusic and then dives into a pool of more, quivering Ausmusic while wrestling with the finest Ausmusic.
To celebrate the kickoff of this glorious month, the network have announced the nominees for the 2015 J Awards, which highlight the talents of local artists, and the best Australian albums of the year.
Without any further shaky jelly wrestling analogies – bear with us, it’s Monday morning – the nominees for Australian Album of the Year are:
Alison Wonderland – Run

– Yuck

Courtney Barnett
– Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit

Gang Of Youths
– The Positions

– Dark Night Sweet Light

Jarryd James
– Thirty One

Parkway Drive
– Ire

Seth Sentry Strange
– New Past

Tame Impala
– Currents

The Rubens
– Hoops
Further nominations include:
Unearthed Artist of the Year:
Boo Seeka



Tired Lion

Vallis Alps

Double J Artist of the Year:

Blank Realm 

Emma Donovan & The PutBacks 

Hiatus Kaiyote 

Paul Kelly 

Tim Rogers

Australian Music Video of the Year

Boy & Bear
 – ‘Walk The Wire’ 
Director: Darcy Prendergast & Josh Thomas

Briggs – ‘The Children Came Back’ 
Executed by: Heath Kerr & Josh Davis

Courtney Barnett – ‘Pedestrian At Best’ 
Director: Charlie Ford

Flume (feat Andrew Wyatt) – ‘Some Minds’
Director: Clemens Habicht

Life Is Better Blonde – ‘Mine’ 
Director: Natalie Erika James
Winners will be announced at the J Awards and broadcast live on triple j from 4.30pm Thursday November 19.

Photo: Adela Loconte via Getty Images