Our mother FKA twigs has blessed us with ‘Holy Terrain’, the second offering from her much-anticipated self-produced album MAGDALENE.

It’s been 5 years since twigs released her debut album LP1, and 4 years since her last body of work: 2015’s EP M3LL155X.

‘Holy Terrain’ (featuring Future) follows in the footsteps of ‘cellophane’, MAGDALENE‘s closing track, released back in April.

twigs produced her second studio album during a rather tumultuous period, involving heartbreak and surgery to remove multiple tumours from her uterus.

She elaborated in a press release: “I never thought heartbreak could be so all-encompassing. I never thought that my body could stop working to the point that I couldn’t express myself physically in the ways that I have always loved and found so much solace.”

“I have always practiced my way into being the best I could be, but I couldn’t do that this time, I was left with no option but to tear every process down.”

She continued: “But the process of making this album has allowed me for the first time, and in the most real way, to find compassion when I have been at my most ungraceful, confused and fractured. I stopped judging myself and at that moment found hope in MAGDALENE. To her I am forever grateful.”

MAGDALENE will be released October 25. You can pre-order it via her site here. Check out the jaw-dropping visuals for ‘Holy Terrain’, as well as MAGDALENE‘s track list, below.

1 ‘Thousand Eyes’
2 ‘Home With You’
3 ‘Sad Day’
4 ‘Holy Terrain’ (Ft. Future)
5 ‘Mary Magdalene’
6 ‘Fallen Alien’
7 ‘Mirrored Heart’
8 ‘Daybed’
9 ‘Cellophane’

Image: MAGDALENE album artwork / Matthew Stone