Big Scary Wins 9th Annual Australian Music Prize

Melbourne band Big Scary has just been announced as the winners of the 9th annual Australian Music Prize in recognition of their critically acclaimed sophomore album, Not Art, the followup to 2011’s Vacation.

The duo was bestowed with the honour of wining the most prestigious award in Australian music as well as a $30,000 cash prize at a ceremony held in Sydney this afternoon, beating out the likes of Cloud Control’s Dream Cave, Beaches’ She BeatsDialectrix’s The Cold Light Of DayHorrorshow’s King Amongst ManyJagwar Ma’s Howlin’Jen Cloher’s In Blood MemoryJimblah’s Phoenix and Kirin J Callinan’s Embracism

The duo – vocalist/guitarist Tom Iansek and drummer Joanna Syme – join past winners including The Drones, Augie March, The Mess Hall, Eddie Current Suppression Ring, Lisa Mitchell, Cloud Control, The Jezabels and Hermitude.   

Stream this year’s AMP winner below. Congratulations, guys.