Melbourne Victory Dominates, Claims A League Title Over Sydney FC

Melbourne Victory have claimed the coveted A league title over Sydney FC, winning their home-game Grand Final in an absolutely stunning 3 – 0 triumph. 

A heated but finely-balanced settling of scores ultimately saw Victory manning possession in the first half, only to up the stakes at the 34 minute mark with a picture-perfect goal by Melbourne striker Besart Berisha, taking the lead over Sydney FC 1-0:

The following half was marked by two successive yellow cards – one for Sydney’s Shane Smeltz against Milligan; one for Melbourne’s Carl Valeri against Petovik, with Sydney collecting handfuls of free kicks and penalties – to no avail. 

Following a fruitless Sydney FC free-kick at the 81st minute, Victory’s Kosta Barbarouses surged ahead to double Melbourne’s lead – sinking the team’s second goal during a tense final ten minutes.

Victory weren’t ones to concede to the championship lightly, however, with Leigh Broxham gloriously following up Barbarouses’ lead, throttling Victory to 3 – 0 with mere minutes to spare.

At a fully-packed AAMI Park in Melbourne this afternoon, Victory’s win reportedly made history as Australia’s most-watched club football match ever.

Onya, Melbourne! They don’t call you Victory for nothing. 

Lead image by Quinn Rooney via Getty.