Matt Priddis Wins The 2014 Brownlow Medal After A Drama-Filled Count

Matt Priddis of the West Coast Eagles has come from absolutely nowhere to be the surprise winner of the 2014 Brownlow Medal, awarded to the Best and Fairest player in the AFL.
Priddis won the count outright on 26 votes, ahead of Fremantle‘s Nat Fyfe on 25 – who was ineligible due to suspension – and Gold Coast‘s Gary Ablett and Sydney‘s Lance Franklin, both on 22.
Priddis becomes the Eagles third Brownlow Medalist, after Ben Cousins in 2005, and Chris Judd in 2004.
This makes it the third consecutive year in which the Brownlow Medalist has come from a side that did not qualify for the finals series.
In another huge anomaly – and proving just how unpredictable this year’s count was – Priddis becomes the first player since Shane Woewodin of Melbourne in 2000 to win the Brownlow Medal, yet miss out on selection in the All-Australian team in the same year.
The night began with wild controversy, even before the count began as Geoffrey Edelsten arrived with new girl… person… Gabi Grecko, who drew inspiration from one of the poorer cuts of Blade Runner for her outfit.
For all of those not plugged in to the Melbourne Football bubble, don’t worry. We’re not real sure who Gabi Grecko is either.
The night was also a big scoop for the Port Adelaide Power, with star players Chad Wingard and Matt White taking out Mark and Goal of the Year respectively.

The 2014 AFL season concludes this Saturday with the Grand Final – to be contested between the Sydney Swans and the Hawthorn Hawks.
Way to go, Goldilocks!

Photos: Michael Dodge, Quinn Rooney and Scott Barbour via Getty Images.