Heads up, creeps.
As you may be aware, Instagram is currently gunning for its competitors at Snapchat, and recently rolled out a new feature that would allow users to send photos and videos that would disappear after a set amount of time.
Realising that people would inevitably use this new direct messaging feature to send photos of their junk, Instagram announced that it would notify users if anyone took a screenshot of their disapparing photo.
After the notifications started popping up, however, users began freaking out that Instagram was telling its users about all screenshots of their profiles, and panic quickly set in.
Instagram is now telling people when you screenshot their stuff pic.twitter.com/dtlrgO8kbu
— Common White Girl (@CommonWhiteGrls) November 25, 2016
Instagram’s original statement on their new feature clarifies when they will and will not send notification to users, and should rprovide you with some reassurance. They said:
Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose a group or create one in just a few taps — and you can also send to individual friends at the same time. Send anything you want, from inside jokes to your worst selfies. Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot.
So there you have it, creeps, crisis averted. You can still screenshot your crush’s profile with impunity, as long as you feel okay about the person you’ve become.