Tropfest Unveils Next Year’s Signature Item

Calling all budding PT/Wes Andersons: Entries are now open for next year’s edition of the much loved Tropfest short film festival which now comes with a dedicated DSLR category in honour of the cheapest and most efficient way to make a cinematic masterpiece (see Lena Dunham’s Tiny Furniture, Wes Anderson’s Fantastic Mr. Fox, Drake Doremus’ Like Crazy and Andrew Haigh’s Weekend).

The winning filmmaker will receive a $10,000 cash prize, a trip to Los Angeles (for networking reasons) and, for the first time in Tropfest history, a brand new car thanks to Toyota – as well as a viewing audience of 150,000 people live at venues across Australia as well as hundreds of thousands more watching at home via Movie Extra.

As per tradition, films must not exceed seven minutes in length and must contain the Tropfest Signature Item, which next year is “balloon”. Entries close on January 3, 2013 after which the winning film will be chosen by a jury of experts which has previously included the likes of Nicole Kidman, Toni Collette, Geoffrey Rush, Cate Blanchett, Russell Crowe, Baz Luhrmann, Ewan McGregor, Asher Keddie, Elijah Wood and Tobey Maguire.

Watch last year’s winner below…