The world’s best big-wave surfers have less than 72 hours to make their way to Shipstern Bluff, Tassie‘s insane surfing slab for the one, the only Red Bull Cape Fear comp.

20 of the world’s most ballsy slab surfers have been exclusively invited to the event to vie for the title of 2019 Red Bull Cape Fear Champion. There’ll be four five-surfer heats and each winner will progress straight to the final.

The contestants? Aussie legend Mick Fanning and the 2016 defending champion Russell Bierke to name two. 

They join:

  • Mark Mathews (AUS)
  • Justen “Jughead” Allport (AUS)
  • Pedro Scooby (BRA)
  • Laurie Towner (AUS)
  • Ryan Hipwood (AUS)
  • Nathan Florence (USA)
  • Billy Kemper (USA)
  • Daniel Griffiths (TAS)
  • Shaun Wallbank (TAS)
  • James McKean (TAS)
  • James Hollmer-Cross (TAS)
  • Tyler Hollmer-Cross (TAS)
  • Michael Brennan (TAS)
  • Zebulon Critchlow (TAS)
  • Brook Phillips (TAS)
  • Marti Paradisis (TAS)
  • Alex Zawadzki (TAS)
  • TBC

The entire thing will be broadcast live and free at Red Bull TV, right HERE

Red Bull Cape Fear is set to get the blood pumping on Monday, 13 May. 

Learn more about the gnarly comp HERE

Fanno posted about event on his Insta, writing: “I don’t normally do airs but when I do…. haha yeah right!! @redbullau Cape Fear is ON!! Get ready to watch Monday Australian time. If you need me I’ll be in the bathtub holding my breath till then hahah”

To get you absolutely hyped, here are the highlights from 2016’s Red Bull Cape Fear.

Image: Andrew Chisholm