Cricket Australia has confirmed that Steve Smith and Dave Warner will each receive a 12-month ban following the ball-tampering scandal, with Cameron Bancroft on the receiving end of a 9-month ban.

The decision from Cricket Australia seems to confirm that the players used sandpaper to tamper with the ball, not “sticky yellow tape” as claimed by Bancroft. All three were found to have breached the code of conduct by either having knowledge of or participating in a “plan to artificially alter the condition of the ball“, with Warner further found to have instructed “a junior player” to undertake the plan.

The ban means that that, for the specified duration, players will be unable to play for Australia or at a state level. Additionally, the Board of Control for Cricket in India has barred them from playing in the Indian Premier League.

According to the Sydney Morning Herald, between those bans, Warner and Smith will miss out on over $4 million each, not including lost sponsorships.

Additionally, Smith has been told that he will not be able to hold the captainship for at least a year after the end of the ban, and Warner will reportedly never be able to hold the captainship.

Tim Paine is set to become full-time captain.

Image: Quinn Rooney / CA / Getty Images