Welp, Greater Sydney residents will now have even more restrictions imposed on them, including a new rule to stop residents going to their holiday homes and another which asks for people in a single bubble to register their partner’s name.

On Friday afternoon, the NSW cabinet held a crisis meeting where they decided to tighten restrictions for Greater Sydney’s 12 local government area’s of concern: Bayside, Blacktown, Burwood, Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Georges River, Liverpool, Parramatta, Strathfield, and parts of Penrith.

Under these new rules, residents from one of the LGA’s of concern will need a permit to leave the region. That means those with a second/holiday home will not be able to travel there.

Those currently involved in a single bubble will also have to register the name of their buddy, according to the ABC. That partner also has to be five kilometres within your area.

On a more positive note, anyone who needs to isolate while waiting for the results of their COVID test can apply for a $320 payment.

Victoria has a similar payment called the test isolation payment, but it only applies to those who will not receive income or salary during self-isolation. Those on JobSeeker or another government income support are also not eligible for the $450 payment.

These new rules come after NSW recorded a whopping 390 cases today. Of those cases, 58 were infectious in the community and 43 were in the community for part of their infectious period.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian was frustrated that a handful of people were causing this rise in case numbers.

“I am a bit tired of hearing people say they don’t know what they are supposed to do. It is really people knowingly having disregard unfortunately for the loved ones and also the rest of us in breaching the health orders,” she said.

People caught breaching public health orders will also now face fines of $5000.

Image: Getty Images / James D. Morgan