The XX, Dizzee, Foals On Mercury Prize Shortlist

In case you weren’t familiar with it the Mercury Prize is an annual music prize awarded to the best album of the year in the United Kingdom and is considered one of the more credible music prizes around the world, affording the winner £20,000 cash and a lifetime of bragging rights.

The shortlist for 2010 was just announced:

Biffy Clyro: Only Revolutions
Corinne Bailey Rae: The Sea
Dizzee Rascal: Tongue N’ Cheek
Foals: Total Life Forever
I Am Kloot: Sky at Night
Kit Downes Trio: Golden
Laura Marling: I Speak Because I Can
Mumford & Sons: Sigh No More
Paul Weller: Wake Up the Nation
The xx: The xx
Villagers: Becoming a Jackal
Wild Beasts: Two Dancers

The winner gets announced on 7th September. Place your bets.

Main image by Owen Richards