Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards Winners Announced

The Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards last night celebrated the creme de la creme of Australian independently-released music at the eighth annual awards ceremony, hosted by the inimitable HG Nelson.

14 awards in all were handed out
, with world-beating electronica artist Flume winning all of them. Not really, but he certainly dominated the night, winning four of the five categories he was nominated in: Best Independent Artist, Best Independent Album, Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album and Best Independent Dance/Electronica or Club Single. Sadly the man of the night could not collect his awards in person, but appeared in a video from New Zealand, thanking his family, friends, fans, collaborators and 2013’s superlabel Future Classic (who won the peer voted Best Independent Label award).

Seth Sentry topped off a massive year of high Triple J rotation and US success with the award for Best Independent Hip Hop Album, while singer/songwriter/hearthrob Vance Joy doubled up with awards for Breakthrough Independent Artist and Best Independent Single/EP. King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard not only won Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album for their record 12 Bar Bruise, they also took out the inaugeral Carlton Dry Global Music Grant, a hefty injection of moolah, specifically designed to help emerging bands boost their international profile. The band took home a cheque (sadly not of the oversized novelty variety) for a cool $50 grand, which is just about enough to send all 35 of the Wizards overseas to electrify international audiences with their maniacal brand of psyched-out garage rock.


Best Independent Artist  – Flume
Best Independent Album – Flume – Flume
Breakthrough Independent Artist – Vance Joy
Best Independent Single/EP  – Vance Joy – God Loves You When You’re Dancing
Best Independent Hip Hop Album – Seth Sentry – This Was Tomorrow     
Best Independent Country Album – Catherine Britt – Always Never Enough
Best Independent Blues And Roots Album – Paul Kelly – Spring And Fall
Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album – King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – 12 Bar Bruise
Best Independent Jazz Album – Jonathan Zwartz – The Remembering And Forgetting Of The Air
Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album – Flume – Flume
Best Independent Dance/Electronica or Club Single – Flume – Holdin’ On      
Best Independent Classical Album  – Amy Dickson – Catch Me If You Can
Best Independent Label – Future Classic
Carlton Dry Global Music Grant winner – King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard