APRA Award Winners Announced

Last night the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) Music Awards, “Australian songwriting’s premier music event”, were held in Sydney. The winners in each category are chosen either by the voting members of APRA (in excess of 30,000 eligible voters), members of the APRA Board or APRA based statistical analysis which we think refers to how the songs performed in the Australian music Charts.

Here they are:

Song of the Year
Title: Big Jet Plane
Artist: Angus and Julia Stone

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year
Writer: Megan Washington

Most Played Australian Work
Title: Seventeen
Artist: Jet

International Work of the Year
Title: Hey, Soul Sister
Artist: Train

Country Work of the Year
Title: Little Bird
Artist: Kasey Chambers

Blues & Roots Work of the Year
Title: Close To You
Artist: John Butler Trio

Urban Work of the Year
Title: Who’s That Girl
Artist: Guy Sebastian Featuring Eve

Dance Work of the Year
Title: Free Fallin
Artist: Zoe Badwi

Rock Work of the Year
Title: Seventeen
Artist: Jet

Most Played Australia Work Overseas
Title: Highway to Hell (?!)
Artist: AC/DC

Songwriter of the Year
Angus and Julia Stone

Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music
Paul Kelly