Following in the footsteps of Hannah Gadsby‘s groundbreaking and critically acclaimed Nanette, streaming giants Netflix are dipping into Australia’s rich and vast pool of comedic talent for a giant new batch of specials announced earlier this morning.

Joel Creasey and Nazeem Hussain will be scoring their own 30-minute stand-up specials as part of an “unprecedented” stand-up showcase that will see Netflix release 47 – yes, forty seven – new comedy specials on the same day.

The initiative is part of a massive $500 million investment from Netflix Canada into stand-up comedy – which remains one of the streaming giant’s cornerstone genres.

The specials will feature comedians from all across the world, and are set to be recorded in a variety of locations – chiefly, at the prestigious Just For Laughs comedy festival in Montreal. Additional sets are set to be taped in locations like Brazil, Mexico, India, and the Netherlands.

Additionally, the series is set to feature sets recorded in seven different languages: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Arabic, Dutch, and German.

Creasey and Hussain represent the Australian contingent for the series, while our choice friends across the pond in New Zealand are being ably represented by Cal Wilson and Urzila Carlson, who will no doubt be familiar to Australian audiences.

27 of the 47 comics set to record sets were announced today. Cop the full list of them below.


  • Joel Creasey
  • Nazeem Hussain


  • Cal Wilson
  • Urzila Carlson


  • Chris D’Elia
  • Neal Brennan
  • Nicole Byer
  • Nick Swardson


  • Nish Kumar
  • Joel Dommett
  • Mae Martin
  • Ellie Taylor


  • Adib Alkhalidey
  • François Bellefeuille
  • Ivan Decker
  • Louis-José Houde
  • Katherine Levac
  • Dave Merheje
  • Deanne Smith
  • K. Trevor Wilson


  • Loyiso Gola
  • Loyiso Madinga
  • Tumi Morake
  • Riaad Moosa


  • Shirley Souganon
  • Jason Brokerss


  • Moayad Alnefaie
  • Adi Khalefa
  • Rawsan Hallak
  • Ibraheem Alkhairallah

The as-yet untitled series is set to hit Netflix screens in 2019.

Image: Getty Images / Daniel Pockett, AAP