Some Maniac Has Figured Out Who Actually Won ‘Whose Line Is It Anyway?’

It feels wrong to actually tally the points doled out by Drew Carrey during his run as judge of Whose Line Is It Anyway?, the biggest improv comedy television show of all time. Sure, most skits ended up with a definite winner, but Whose Line has always been “the show where everything’s made up and the points don’t matter.”

Simply put, we feel worse about it than Ryan Stiles feels about hoedowns.

Regardless, the folks over at YouTube channel 12Medbe Network obviously overcame that guilt, and managed to tabulate the scores from eight seasons of the U.S. version.

Their most recent video reveals the winner: it’s not Stiles, nor his show-bro Colin Mochrie. It’s not Wayne Brady. It’s not Greg Proops, Brad Sherwood, new host Aisha Tyler, or even musos Laura Hall and Linda Taylor.

It’s Chip Esten, the guest comedian who has appeared in 40 episodes.

His victory comes not by a continual accumulation of points over that time, but by one bounteous gift from Carrey: a score of “a thousand points to the tenth power”. 

The channel posits that over those eight seasons, Brady won 3,009,326,744 points. Stiles and Mochrie both earned well over a trillion. Esten? A casual 1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 points, and change.

Check out the full video below to watch the magic moment, and to re-acquaint yourself with one of the better television game shows of all time.