Aubrey Plaza Sacrificed ‘Virgin’ Finn Wolfhard At The Spirit Awards In L.A.

Aubrey Plaza

Aubrey Plaza hosted the Film Independent Spirit Awards in Los Angeles today, taking over from fellow comedians Nick Kroll and John Mulaney, who did a bang-up job of opening the show over the last two years.

Plaza quickly put her own weird stamp on the evening, opening things up with a pre-taped bit in which she and a coven of iconic witches including Christina Ricci, Marisa Tomei, Marcia Gay Harden and Sharon Stone gathered to sacrifice a virgin.

The virgin in question? That would be Finn Wolfhard, adorable child star Stranger ThingsThings get pretty weird by the end of this, but we wouldn’t have it any other way. Please go ahead and enjoy, and check below to see her monologue and a list of Independent Spirit Award winners.

Per the New York Times, the films that walked away with prizes this year were:

Best Feature If Beale Street Could Talk

Best Director – Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could Talk

Best First Feature – Sorry to Bother You

Best Male Lead – Ethan Hawke, First Reformed 

Best Female Lead – Glenn Close, The Wife

Best Supporting Female Actor – Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk

Best Supporting Male Actor – Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Best Cinematography – Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Suspiria

Best Screenplay – Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Best First Screenplay – Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade

Best Editing – Joe Bini, You Were Never Really Here

Best Documentary – Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Best International Film – Roma (Mexico)

Piaget Producers Award – Shrihari Sathe

The Someone to Watch Award – Alex Moratto, Sócrates

The Bonnie Award – Debra Granik

Robert Altman Award – Suspiria

John Cassavetes Award – En el Séptimo Día 

Aubrey Plaza, as was noted in the above clip, will next be seen in the reboot of horror movie Child’s Play. She’s also providing her voice to the animated film The Ark And The Aardvark, along with Stephen MerchantJenny SlateMiles TellerRob Riggle and Craig Robinson.